Roasted Brussels Sprouts

How did brussels sprouts gain such a negative connotation?  They are so delicious!

I thought it was just me rediscovering brussel sprouts as an adult, but it turns out the rest of the world has caught on as well.  They are so delicious and so easy.  I usually go simple – roasting them on 400 with olive oil, salt and pepper.  If I am feeling adventurous, I will grate some fresh parmesan cheese on top.

After my recent trip to NYC for the Institute of Integrative Nutrition Conference, I came home with a whole new take: Dijon Mustard!  I experienced two amazing restaurants over the weekend (The National and ABC Kitchen) and both featured my beloved brussels sprouts finished off with dijon mustard.  And both were amazing!

photo 1

Taking this to my own kitchen, I gave it a shot.  Use a whole bag of sprouts, you will want more! Have leftovers to eat for lunch with your rice or quinoa that is waiting in your rice cooker.

– Cut ends off the brussels sprouts and slice in half lengthwise. Do not discard any leaves that fall off. They get nice and crispy and become the best part!

– Drizzle with olive oil, kosher salt and pepper.

– Roast in the oven at 400 for about 25 minutes.

– Prepare dressing: 2 Tbl Dijon mustard, 2 Tbl Balsamic Vinegar, 1 Tbl Olive oil

– When the sprouts are done roasting toss with the dressing.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

