My Rice Cooker Obsession

There is always something warm and ready to eat in my rice cooker.  I truly believe this appliance is the most essential instrument for a whole food diet.

For the past fifteen years I have used the same basic rice cooker that costs about $30.  Those are still available at stores such as Target, Walmart, or Bed Bath and Beyond.  But since I practically use it every day, I figured it was time for an upgrade.

photo 1

My Zojirushi NS-TSC18 is my new best friend.  If you haven’t used a rice cooker before, I am here to tell you they are magic.  Simply scoop your rice with the supplied measuring cup, rinse (also soak your rice to make it more digestible), and push the button.  Voila!  Your fluffy steamed rice will be ready within the hour.  The beauty of this particular rice cooker is that it has smart technology.  There are settings for brown, white, sushi, steam, bake or porridge!  Yes, porridge! SOLD!  I consistently use it to make rice and quinoa.

This bad boy has a 10 cup capacity and there is a smaller version available as well. Unless you live solo, go big!  When I make rice or quinoa, I go ahead and make a full cookers worth.  That way I can use all the leftover rice or quinoa for another dish such as Thai Fried Rice or Cheesy Broccoli Casserole, Mediterranean Quinoa Salad. OR, just leave it on “keep warm”… for days… a warm bowl of rice or quinoa ready to eat whenever you are on the hunt.  You may use for breakfast and top with scrambled eggs, spinach and hot sauce.  You may use for a lunch and top with toasted sesame seeds, leftover stir fry or salad, fish or chicken. The possibilities are endless.

photo 2

But it doesn’t stop there!  This amazing machine has a clock and a timer on it.  Last night I loaded it with Steel Cut Oats, walnuts, raisins maple syrup, and cinnamon.  I put it on porridge mode and set the timer.  At 6am it was singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” to me and this is what I woke up to.  The best bowl of Steel Cut Oats ever!  Family agrees 🙂

Now, to explore the “Bake” mode, interesting…

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

